That Time I Turned Into A Monkey.

Hi everyone, how’s this weekend treating ya?

I just got home from a ‘Getting Started With Raw’ workshop with my Mum at The Raw Food Kitchen. It was a little 3-hour workshop run by the owner Amanda, teaching you all about the benefits of eating raw foods, how to get started and she walked us through some simple recipes to get us started. Oh my god, you guys… can we just take a second to talk about how good the food was?! I don’t think I’d ever go fully raw, there are things I just love too much, but I’m super interested and motivated to bring more raw food recipes into my life! 🙂 I think I’ll do a separate blog post about our experience this morning, and what I’m thinking about it all.

Screen Shot 2014-05-17 at 4.17.14 PM

 

{Amanda & her day on a plate article for Loving Earth}

source

_______________________________________________

 

It seems like I’ve been stepping out of my comfort zone quite a bit lately and exploring new health and fitness endeavours. Fitness First recently challenged their bloggers to supercharge their fitness: basically, find something that out of your ordinary health routine, and skyrockets your fitness in new ways you may not have thought of. It’s all about discovering different ways to be active and get fit, and ultimately, to keep your fitness journey interesting and fun.

Rock climbing came to mind, and I was suddenly set on it! I’ve always loved climbing things. As a kid, I was essentially a monkey, scrambling up anything I could really get my hands on – trees, ropes… people.. (they weren’t as keen as I was, obviously). So I thought this was an awesome opportunity to rekindle an old love. Since Tom was in town, I employed him as my sidekick for the day. He was such a good sport, not being too embarrassed to snap pics of me posing on the walls, and even agreed to be in photos with the less-than-attractive harness on. What a guy. For that, I might not even put up the most incriminating photos of him… 😉

usyd climbing gym

We headed over to The Ledge at Sydney Uni, just around the corner from me. They have a little climbing gym, and you can just go in and do your thang whenever, even if you’re not a student. The man running it gave us the safety brief, showed us the ropes (literally and metaphorically) and we were on our way.

I forgot how damn hard rock climbing is! It literally requires every bit of upper body strength you can muster. Mere metres away from the top, all I could think was: “how was I such a buff little kid, for this to be no big thang?!” After smugly touching the top and making sure Tom saw me so I could rub it in, I descended down the wall. Less than gracefully. In fact, extremely awkwardly with a wedgie to match – winning. My arms would not stop shaking after a few climbs! Because you’re constantly supporting almost your entire body weight with your arms, and then pulling yourself up, it’s a pretty intense strength workout. However, rock climbing is definitely not something you’d instantly think of to create more tone and strength in your upper body… but I’m telling you, you’d get some pretty fantastic back muscles, triceps and biceps from it!

rockclimbing

rockclimbingdateee

climbing gymmm

I really enjoyed my little foray back into rockclimbing! Needless to say, I was feelin’ the old arms the next day. It’s so important when choosing a workout, to pick something that you genuinely enjoy and have fun with. I know you hear that all the time, but honestly, it couldn’t be more true. Even better when you’ve got a sidekick with you who’s threatening to drop you motivating you to keep going, give it your all and just to laugh with, let’s be real. Admittedly, most of my laughs came from making fun of Tom when I beat him and made it to the top when he couldn’t… but hey, you could say that doubles as motivation to then kick my butt, right? 🙂

With Fitness First’s support to supercharge my fitness, I also bought some amazing new Lorna Jane pieces to wear not only to my rock climbing sessions, but to the park, the gym, and every other workout I hit up. Sometimes, there’s nothing like a few fresh pieces to amp up the determination and keep ya going. What is it about cute gym clothes?! I have yet to carry out a scientific study to find that one out.

Until then, I’ll be rocking these gems for my workouts:

wild side jacket
{Wild Side Excel Zip Through}

 

LJ tights

 

{Fierce Core Stability Full Length Tights}

 

What have you ever spontaneously tried to ‘supercharge your fitness’?
What’s the best way to motivate yourself to stay
active?

Love,

Kloe x

4 responses to “That Time I Turned Into A Monkey.

  1. I just need to say – I didn’t even read your post before I started laughing out loud “That Time I Turned Into a Monkey” – hahahaha LOVE! But that’s a pretty accurate description of how I feel when I attempt rock climbing (I don’t attempt it often.)

    • Hahaha! I love catching people off guard with my titles 😉
      it’s true right? a very awkward monkey with that rather attractive harness on!

Leave a Reply

