Easter Weekend, I Miss You. Please Come Back.

Hey lovely people, how was your Easter long weekend?

I hope you enjoyed every second, had an incredible time with family and friends… and are now paying for your #yolo attitude towards all the chocolatey goodies. I know I’m still nursing a choccie hangover. 😉

I had one of the best weekends I’d had in a while. On Saturday, Tom had a bunch of people over at his place, and we just spent the night playing pool, chatting and cooking sausages and potato gems at 11pm… cue the desperate quest for tomato sauce that got everyone involved, haha. I ended up calling it a night shortly after the midnight feast, as I was so exhausted. The guys just stayed up watching a movie before everyone else crashed. I mean, by this stage I was the only girl, so I thought I’d leave the boys to it!

On Sunday morning, we were up early and Tom was cooking up the biggest batch of bacon I’d ever seen. Boys know how to eat!  Since I was feeling like a bit of a domestic failure, I started baking creme egg brownies to take with us to Easter lunch at my family’s place. I was feeling all accomplished and slightly cocky, until a scientifically unexplainable disaster happened… the brownies were both burned and still gooey at the same time?! This could only happen to me, haha. I took this as a warning I should not be allowed in the kitchen, unless it involves toast. Or maybe eggs. If I’m feeling particularly adventurous 😛

Here’s what they were meant to look like:

Recipe-creme-egg-brownies

 

source

Here’s a probably accurate image of what the scene really looked like:

Season_2_promo_pic_4

 

source

{‘Breaking Bad’ fans, ya feel me: I’m Jesse on the left, not knowing what the hell I’m doing… playing it cool. Tom is Walter, wondering what the hell he’s gotten himself into. ‘Nuff said.}

Anyway, after the baking dilemma and kicking everyone out of the house, we got ready and headed to my family’s place for Easter lunch. Verdict: it was all good about the lack of brownies, there was definitely enough chocolate stuff to go around. Times a thousand. Could breathe again.

…Except after the feast. No breathing, just rolling. So much food, but so, so good!

easter lunch 2014

And yes, Tom and I are both wearing crazy shirts. I swear we didn’t plan it! My Mickey Mouse jumper wins, just quietly. 😉

It was a lovely afternoon. Although, like I’ve said, I’m not a massive Easter fanatic, it’s still a nice little holiday coming up to the middle of the year. We all need it: everyone can just relax, recoup and take a bit of a breather, spend time with family and eat lots of goodies. 🙂 Then you’re ready to take on the rest of the year and before you know it, Christmas is just around the corner. What even.

So now post-Easter-long-weekend reality is setting in, and I’m feelin’ the effects of all those late nights and indulging. I’m super tired, and am so glad I had a whole day off today to reset for the week.

My day so far has pretty much looked like this:

IMG_4653

{I spent my morning at a local cafe reading magazines, and of course, guzzling coffee. Straight to the bloodstream, caffeine. Please & thank-you. }

IMG_4655

 

{A bit of veggie/salad prep for the week}

I always find that after indulgent holidays, my body craves veggies, fruit and lots of quality protein straight after. It’s like clockwork! I’m sure it’s my body’s way of telling me to calm the eff down and get some actual nutrients back into me. I mean, let’s be real here… I don’t think I’ve eaten one green thing for about, ooh, 5 days? Tom and I have essentially lived on bread, chocolate, chips, lollies from show bags (BERTIE BEETLES!) soft drink and brownies (…yeah okay, you caught us. We ended up eating the brownies anyway. They’ve still got it, even though you can’t even tell what they are 😉 ) Actually looking forward to some good, healthy food back in my life this week. 🙂

Hope you’re not suffering too much from the post-holiday blues and aren’t sobbing at your desk at work or anything… as tempting as it is, I hear ya.

Hope you all had the best Easter break, and a great week ahead! 🙂

What did you get up to over Easter?
Any traditions you and your family always whip out?
What’s your all-time favourite Easter recipe or indulgence?

Love,

Kloe x

2 responses to “Easter Weekend, I Miss You. Please Come Back.

  1. Those Cook book pictures lie I have yet to have anything resemble the pictures. Glad you had a great weekend xxx

  2. I’m always delighted to find another Bertie bettle lova! 😉 I still remember being a little girl and being devastated at the fact the only place you could get them was at the show 😩 #biglifeproblems . Sounds like you had a wonderful weekend with your boy & family 👍 happy belated Easter miss Kloe x

Leave a Reply

