Twenty one.

You guys, I had the most unforgettable, amazing 21st birthday party last weekend.

Words cannot really describe how happy the day made me, and how wonderful it was to have everyone I love in one place to celebrate with me… but as always, you know I’ll try anyway. 😉

Just a little (rather embarrassing) disclaimer: I lost my iPhone somewhere between cocktails and champagne on the Saturday night, so I lost all my photos! However, I had to find some to show you how stunning the setting was. 🙂

Mum had booked a room in Pilu at Freshwater – an award-winning Italian restaurant right on the beach at, you guessed it, Freshwater. Before we headed in, we had a lovely professional photographer take a whole bunch of photos in front of the beach to remember the day. I’m so excited to get those babies back! Will definitely show you as soon as I can, keep your eyes peeled.
This is probably, no definitely, the first time that we’ve had photos taken professionally of the entire family, and I’m so glad we could do that on my 21st. The wind didn’t cooperate, but we all felt like we were being snapped by the paparazzi nonetheless!

 

Pilu-Freshwater

source

After that, we made our way up to the restaurant… and oh. My. God. It was absolutely stunning, couldn’t have had a more perfect venue! The room was bright and summery, decorated with my Mum’s touch including some balloons and 21st confetti… because no birthday is complete without those. 😉 I quickly made friends with one of the waiters, Ben, who was brilliant, but Ally and him took it upon themselves to decide when I needed another peach bellini cocktail… or a glass of champagne… let’s just put it this way: I probably didn’t need another one, but hey, how often do you turn 21?! 😛

pilu

source

And the food? Oh, the food. I honestly don’t even know where to start. It was just… incredible. Put it this way, I can definitely see why those awards are coming in, and they’re well-deserved! We had a three-course meal, and here’s what I chose (when I found out I couldn’t have the entire menu, I had to narrow it down… tears nearly ensued…):

  • Ricotta-stuffed fried zucchini flowers (um, zucchini flowers are good at the best of times, but stuffed with ricotta? Next level. Mind blown.)
  • Salmon and chickpea dish
  • Honey mousse, spiced sponge, macadamias and a beer sorbet (not kidding – we had a sneaking suspicion, and asked Ben who confirmed!)
  • A slice of cake, because really, if you’re going to do a birthday – you’ve gotta do it right 😉 My cake was a giant cupcake from My Little Cupcake, who I’ve worked with before and as always, they didn’t disappoint! Super buttery and sweet 🙂

 

pilu2

 

source

The rest of the afternoon was just spent chatting, and soaking up the awesome atmosphere. There’s just something so special about literally having everyone who’s meant a lot to you in your life in the one place, at the one time… especially when most of the group lives interstate and I rarely get to see them. Good company, good food, good champagne and cocktails… it’s the simple things. Couldn’t have asked for anything more 🙂

Screen Shot 2014-04-03 at 3.59.53 AM

{Up close and personal with the honey mousse: stolen from Ally’s Instagram}

I got some amazing presents too, everyone was a little naughty. I got a few Tiffany’s jewellery pieces, and I remember walking into the restaurant and Ally instantly going: “is that what I think it is?!” upon seeing that iconic mint coloured bag and white ribbon, haha. It must just be this thing us females can register straight away 😉 I also got some stunning diamond earrings, a little black Mimco bag with some hair clips, a pink Swarovski wrap-around bracelet, a few super-generous vouchers, and Ally put together the most beautiful little book for me from Printstagram: she picked her favourite photos and memories from my Instagram profile (she had to ask for my login deets, cheeky bugger! I wondered what she was up to!), and popped them into a stunning white book with glossy pages. I also got a little army bear from Tom… so cute, I die.

After a blissful lunch, we all headed back to our place near Manly beach and laughed and chatted (some more… can never have too much good conversation, right?!), and ate nibbles under the sunset. Perfect end to a even more perfect day. Big shout-out to Mama Jodes (as I affectionately call her) for organising it all for me, I cannot thank you enough. It was beyond incredible, and something I’ll remember for years and years to come. Will be hard to beat, that’s for sure! 🙂

The fateful night I lost my iPhone in amongst the shenanigans, I just went out for drinks in Darling Harbour with a couple of friends. And then spent the entirety of Sunday being lazy/really appreciating all the amazing people in my life, I’m one lucky gal. ❤

It’s my real birthday today actually, and my Mum and Nan have a surprise for me – once again, my family generally spoiling me and being unbelievably cheeky. But I’ll be sure to let you know how my actual 21st birthday goes and what we get up to!

 

I’m asking you guys:
What’s been your most memorable birthday so far? Why?
What did you get up to on your 21st, if you’ve had it?
Are you a surprise person, or not a fan? I love ’em 😉

Love,

Kloe x

6 responses to “Twenty one.

  1. I am so glad you had a wonderful birthday!

    My most memorable birthday was probably my 21st as it was my first birthday ever spent with Jesse! We had a combined engagement party/21st birthday party for me surrounded by friends and family and it was perfect!

    I don’t think it’s possible for anyone to surprise me, I always seem to find things out ;P

  2. Sounds like an absolutely amazing weekend. It reminded me of my amazing 21st. Those moments are so rare & beautiful you just want to bottle them up & be able to re-live them!

    Have a wonderful day today and I can’t wait to see photos and hear more about it x

  3. I remember my 21st b/c I was overseas in America (first time travelling) and had a ball.
    I also remember my 24th or 25th (i think it was my 25th, but I can’t be sure), but for all the wrong reasons (hence why i don’t remember if it was 24 or 25). It was an utter disaster, and I like cried for days.
    I’ve never had a surprise party, but I have done surprise parties for others, they are always the best.
    Looks like an awesome place to go eat.
    Glad you had fun.

  4. Pingback: Lately: My Incredible Birthday & Australian Fitness Week Fun. | Running Shoes & Chocolate Mousse.·

Leave a Reply

