Valentine’s Day Surprise & How I Do It.

Hey lovers! (sticking with the V-Day theme)

How are we all? It’s post-Valentines Day over here in Australia, and I’m still a bit of a grinning idiot after my surprise.

Yesterday afternoon, Tom had just got back from an almost 2-week trip for work, in which I wasn’t able to talk to him. At all. Needless to say, I was so excited just hearing his voice. He told me to be home at a certain time, because he’d got some stuff delivered.

“Hmm,” I thought. “Is there a possibility that maybe he’s going to rock up?!” Surely not, he’d be exhausted after work – plus, what a trek. Nup, ain’t gonna happen. But I still had this slight inkling… anyway, I was waiting outside for this elusive “delivery guy” (my place is hard to find) and guess who walked around the corner holding a single red rose? Yep, you guessed it – Tom.
I was so excited to see him, I literally just ran and jumped at him. I couldn’t believe he’d actually gotten off one bus, bought a rose, and hopped right back on another to come see me. I’m one lucky lady. 🙂

valentines day 2014

What a beautiful Valentine’s Day gift, I couldn’t have asked for anything more. In long-distance relationships, any moment you get to spend together is pretty special. I know that sounds incredibly corny, but I don’t get to see Tom everyday and not think twice about it – unfortunately it’s just not that simple.

This post is a little different today, but I wanted to talk about how I survive the whole long-distance thing, and what gets me through. Hopefully it’ll help someone else out there who’s struggling with the emotion of it all. Yes, it’s very challenging, but there are some amazing positives that can come out of such a unique situation, I promise. 🙂

roadtrip

Things that help:

  • Something to look forward to together – this might be a big, overseas adventure together, or as simple as your next visit. It’s knowing there are exciting times in the near future with your partner that will make all the difference. Tom and I were planning our trip to Europe all last year, and I was looking forward to it for months!
  • Regular contact/catch-ups – communication becomes the number 1 factor in a long-distance relationship, and it’s got to be a priority to keep connected. Make an effort to have scheduled phone or Skype calls to catch up on what the other person’s been up to. For example, you might agree that you guys chat on the phone every second night. Little texts here and there are nice too!
  • Have an end in sight – I think  one of the biggest things is having an idea of when you’ll be able to be together, and the gap won’t be so big anymore. This doesn’t mean having an exact date locked in, but just talking about what you both want to do in the future regarding your careers, etc – and thinking about how your relationship will fit in to it all. When are you going to visit eachother? Are you considering moving in together in the next few years? Which city will you live in? Just to make sure you’re both on the same page. 🙂
  • Spend lots of time on your own friendships/passions/hobbies – one great thing is that you get to be super-independent and have some time to invest in you, and the other important things in your life. Go and pursue your passions, as well as spend quality time with your friends and family. This can sometimes help keep a healthy work/play/relationship balance in your life 🙂

Things to remind yourself & some positives:

  • This is (hopefully) not a forever thing. Soon enough you’ll be able to spend more time together/be a little closer.
  • You are with someone who cares for you very much, so admire their loyalty and dedication.
  • The time you spend together is so special, and you never take it (or the person!) for granted – reunions are always just that bit more amazing!
  • You guys are both so strong to be able to take this challenge on! Keep on keepin’ on.

 

So there ya have it – just a bit of an insight into how I manage the not-being-in-the-same-city part of my relationship. I hope that these tips inspired at least one person to hang in there – and realise there are absolutely positives and ways to make it work!

Love,

Kloe x

 

2 responses to “Valentine’s Day Surprise & How I Do It.

Leave a Reply

