Breakthrough Research: Green-Lipped Mussel Oil & Improving Exercise Performance.

The other day, I had the pleasure to be invited to a lunch for a Blackmore‘s event, but unfortunately something came up, and I couldn’t make it 😦
However, I was so interested in the incredible new research, and so utterly depressed about not being able to soak up all the info in person, that the lovely communications director offered to send me all the material. Plus some unexpected little goodies!
I was literally jumping out of my skin with… thankfulness? Yep, I’m going to go with that. 😉

Basically, it’s all about a humble oil called green-lipped mussel oil. I know it sounds a bit obscure, and like something someone made up, but I’m tellin’ ya, it could just be a little miracle yet. It’s been discovered that it can play a major role in improving exercise performance for both elite athletes and the general population. As soon as I heard this, I thought instantly of you guys, and how so many of you are little fitness fiends and would be keen on hearing more! I know I, for one, was a tad excited.

Here's what the little guys look like.

Here’s what the little guys look like.

(source)

Some researchers from the University of Indiana conducted a study that has linked the oil with improved lung function, and has found it especially beneficial for people with exercise-induced asthma. Australian lead researcher (who does a few triathlons on the side, legend!), Tim Mickleborough, claims that from their research, they may be able to help Aussies reduce their reliance on medication to control their asthma, and as a result, they get to enjoy exercise – and boost their performance. If that’s not a win-win-win situation (triple whammy!), I don’t know what is.

Here’s some super interesting stats that blew me away. I had no idea! #nerdmoment #secretsout 😉
These little facts are gathered from a randomised, placebo-controlled study, which will be published in the July 2013 issue of Respiratory Medicine.
The participants were taking a green-lipped mussel oil supplement called Lyprinol.

  • 90% of asthmatics, 20-30% of elite athletes, and 10% of the general population suffer from exercise-enduced asthma.
  • A decrease in the use of medication by 5-10 puffs per day.
  • 57% improvement in functioning of lungs.
  • Improvements in asthma peak flow measurements and symptom scores.

How amazing is that?! As someone who’s had my fair share of experiences with asthma as a kid, and having friends that have struggled with it, this is truly phenomenal stuff. Anyone who can relate, will totally agree that being able to genuinely have fun while exercising, and not having to worry about asthma rearing its ugly head, would be simply awesome. Such a weight off the shoulders!

Now, before you say something along the lines of: “pfft, I’ve got my trusty fish oil tablets! That’ll do the trick, it’s still fishy and lives in the sea and all that. Just more easy to pronounce.”
Well, the impact of fish oil has been studied, and it’s been found you’d need crazy-high concentrations to achieve the same results as the green-lipped mussel oil.
Looks like our mussel-y buddies take the cake here! (see what I did there) 😉

There’s going to be a lot more research into how green-lipped mussel oil can help aid muscle recovery for the general population after exercise, so keep your eyes peeled for more news on that!

Here’s a little sneak peak of my box of goodies I received:

IMG_1935

Oh my gosh, is that a waterproof running jacket with thumbholes I spy?!

Oh my gosh, is that a waterproof running jacket with thumbholes I spy?!

IMG_1936 2

For any one interested in giving it a go and seeing what it can do for you, the piccy above is the product that was used in the study.
I’d definitely encourage you to try it, if you suffer from exercise-induced asthma, and reap the benefits for yourself! I’m absolutely certain you won’t regret it, Blackmore‘s is a fabulous brand, and is very trustworthy and reputable. 🙂

Have you ever tried it?
Are there any pre or post workout supplements, or daily supplements, that you take and absolutely swear by? How come?! I’d love to hear!

Kloe x

One response to “Breakthrough Research: Green-Lipped Mussel Oil & Improving Exercise Performance.

Leave a Reply

