Go Big, or Go Home: Giant Peanut Butter Cups.

Why hello there, (hopefully extremely) hungry readers…

Do I have an awesome treat in store for you today.

Okay, so first up, let’s get a show of hands for who luuurves chocolate? …I’m just going to understandably assume that was everyone.
Now, who also loves themselves a spoonful, or three or four, of peanut butter?
Yep, definitely guessing there were a few (read: a lot) of enthusiastic shakes of the head, and maybe a few of you quickly hiding your peanut butter jar that you had in hand.

It’s all good, I’m right there with ya, and totally relish in the heavenly, out-of-this-world combo that is chocolate and peanut butter.
I don’t know what I did with my life before I discovered it, and quite frankly, don’t even want to remember.
If I recall correctly, it was all about the alphabet spaghetti and fairy bread… which I will admit were awesome, but nothing matches this recipe that I’m about to equip you with. Seriously, brace yourselves – this will rock your world! And taste buds. 😉

See, it's a legit thing, this PB & choc business! Ordered this from iHerb... :)

See, it’s a legit thing, this PB & choc business! Ordered this from iHerb… 🙂

(source)
If peanut butter cups weren’t incredible enough, they just got even better… and bigger.
Not only do you get more bang for your buck, but these babies are also raw and made out of completely healthy and nourishing ingredients.
Read on for the dessert/snack/meal (yep, I did it.) of a lifetime:

GIANT RAW PEANUT BUTTER CUPS

Recipe from the fantastic blog, This Rawsome Vegan Life.

Ingredients:

Crust:

  • 1/4 cup nuts of your choice
  • 2-3 soaked dates
  • 1 tbsp cocoa

Chocolate layer:

  • 1/2 an avocado
  • 4 soaked dates
  • 2 tbsp cocoa
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 tbsp cashew butter (I used almond, cashew & brazil nut butter for this, any kind will do!)
  • 2 tbsp agave (I simply chucked in a stevia packet though, for a bit of sweetness!)
  • Pinch of salt

Peanut butter layer:

  • 2 tbsp natural peanut butter
  • 2 tbsp cashew butter
  • 1/4 tbsp salt

Method:

  1. Mix all the crust ingredients in a food processor until it’s quite crumbly, but it’ll need to hold together, so add a little bit of water or agave if you need.
  2. Press the crust mixture into the bottom and sides of  a muffin/cupcake tin., and pop in the fridge to set.
  3. Blend up the ingredients for the chocolate layer, until it almost looks (and tastes, mmm) like a mousse. Then fill up about 1/3 of the room in the muffin moulds.
  4. For the nut butter layer, just process ingredients until smooth. Or, if you’re a lazy one like me, I literally just used nut butter straight out of the jar.
  5. Put nut butter in the moulds until they’re about 2/3 of the way full, leaving a little bit of room for the final layer.
  6. Fill up the rest of the moulds with the remaining chocolate mixture, and smooth out the top.
  7. Put the tray in the fridge to set for at least an hour, despite the serious urges to dig in straight away! The wait is totally worth it, I promise. 🙂

IMG_1677

Here’s how mine turned out, and you can see a little baby layer of the nut butter oozing there; but it was no where NEAR as incredible-looking as the piccy on This Rawsome Life! So for ultimate drooling opportunities, check out the original recipe here!

Whip up, enjoy, thank me later.
That is an order. 😉

Kloe x

 

7 responses to “Go Big, or Go Home: Giant Peanut Butter Cups.

  1. I’m about to make you hate me…. I don’t like chocolate and peanuts together. I’ve had this peanut butter, and I just didn’t like the combo! However, give me the cinnamon raisin swirl any day! I have also had a Reese PB cup and wasn’t a fan. I know, what’s wrong with me! I think I just love the combo of PB and jam, or cinnamon to deviate! Although I wouldn’t pass these up if they were on offer (;

  2. Oh my gosh. These cups look incredible! It’s funny, I’ve been reading This Rawsome Vegan Life for a while now and I hadn’t come across this recipe. I guess it’s a little too far back in the archives, but so glad that you discovered it for me! Definitely trying it. I do share your love of chocolate and peanut butter… I can eat pb straight from the jar. So, so delicious!

    • it’s such a fantastic blog! even though I’m not doing a raw vegan diet, some of the recipes are incredible 🙂

      oh my gosh, I’ve been known to eat like half a jar in a sitting! it’s too good to be true!

  3. Pingback: Week in Piccies, Wonderwomen & First Day of Internship. | Running Shoes & Chocolate Mousse.·

  4. Pingback: Love Links 11/5 |·

    • Oh my gosh, I cannot even begin to explain my love affair with them.
      I love their incredible combinations, especially white chocolate wonderful!
      I’d love to try more of them 🙂

Leave a Reply

