Running Bare Redefining 30th Birthday Parties: One Lunge at a Time.

Last week, I was invited to join in the Running Bare 30th Birthday celebrations, which all happened on Tuesday. Now, before you assume that this is going to be a post complaining about how I’ve only just recovered from a few too many cocktails and a twisted ankle from some awkward drunken dancing at all hours, think again – this was a very different kind of 30th, I can tell you that much.
Complete with blood, sweat and tears. (and I should probably explain what I’m going on about before I freak you all out too much, promise I’m not too much of a crazy creeper).

We got sent a cute little pink “passport” in the mail, with our itinerary for the day. I can just imagine my face lighting up more and more as I flipped through the pages, probably to the point of resembling an unnaturally happy animated character. More creeper points for Kloe, I’m doin’ well today.

I woke up on Tuesday morning raring to go, hopped on the train and headed over to the most gorgeous, humble little gym run by The Ministry of Wellbeing, Australia’s premier personal training organisation, which was founded by the awesome personal trainer, Blake Worrall-Thompson.

The moment I walked in, I was in absolute awe of how decked out the little place was! We were definitely going to “party”, that was for sure, but Blake clearly had a different idea of what “partying” actually entailed… and no, there were no tiaras, little black dresses or margaritas for this shindig…

I was absolutely star struck and couldn’t form sentences when one of my favourite healthy living and wellness bloggers, Melissa Ambrosini, appeared from no where! Check out her incredible blog, The Path to Wellness – I love her work. And the funny/ironic/crazy thing was, just that morning before I left, I was catching up on her latest blog post! Oh fate, you’re a funny one, you.

Just a little hint: girls, hit the weights!

Just a little hint: girls, hit the weights!

I want ALL the cute workout gear! Heaven.

I want ALL the cute workout gear! Heaven.

Yep, was considering smuggling these out, not gonna lie...

Yep, was considering smuggling these out, not gonna lie…

So despite the room being filled with free weights, spin bikes and some other scary looking intense equipment I had no idea how to use… the bright, fun colours and decorations put me in the partyin’ spirit and I couldn’t wait to get started! But, one question remained… we’re here, we’re pumped, what are we going to be put through?! Only Blake had the answers. Kind of like a fitness Buddha, if you will.

Explanation of the workout while we hyperventilated internally.

Explanation of the workout while we hyperventilated internally.

The workout we were going to be rocking actually sounded kind of, dare I say it, fun?! Basically, we got into pairs, and each of us had a deck of cards overturned, waiting for us ominously. Blake had assigned each suit to a certain exercise, for example we did: lunges, pushups, stair runs and v’s (variation of the crunch). While one partner ran twice around the block, the other had to get through as many cards as they possibly could – the number you drew was the number of reps of the exercise you had to do. Jack represented 12, queen 13, and king 14. “But hey, Kloe, this is really embarrassing for you but… you forgot about the joker. Poor little guy, what did he ever do to you?!”

Oh, don’t you worry, the Joker was definitely involved – and I’m not saying that in a loving, joyous kind of way. The joker meant you had to do 10 reps of EVERY EXERCISE! Luckily I never had to do it, but witnessed other girls about to drop dead!

After the workout, the winners were decided based upon which team got through the most cards (handy hint for ya: it wasn’t the Dream Team, aka the one I was part of… but this was only because I was holding back and wanted to give other people a red hot go, you know? Just doin’ by bit for the community) 😉

There was a photographer there too the whole time, no doubt capturing some extremely flattering bum photos that I hope never make an appearance anywhere that I will have to encounter them!

A much-needed stretch!

A much-needed stretch!

Post-sweat sesh, all looking delicious & not needing showers at all...

Post-sweat sesh, all looking delicious & not needing showers at all…

 

We had a good ol’ stretch, and then we were given our awesome goodie bags! I think I may have gotten a tad too excited by this, and have decided I probably need to learn to conceal my weird child-like ways occasionally… being a “responsible” (term used loosely) 20 year old and all. Hmm, one day!

IMG_1613

We scored a delish gourmet brekkie to go, which definitely had the good stuff – refuelling the right way, that’s for sure! There was some muesli with rhubarb compote, baked ricotta with thyme and parmesan, and some lovely, fresh watermelon with mint to round out the meal. It. was. awesome. Words do not describe how happy my tummy was to devour this after the workout! 🙂

It's okay, you're allowed to drool... don't blame you.

It’s okay, you’re allowed to drool… don’t blame you.

Overall, I had an incredible morning! It was heaps of fun, and I’m so grateful that I got to be involved in the celebrations. I’m a massive fan of Running Bare, they have some amazing products and are a brand that I know and trust! 🙂

Thanks for letting me join in the party, Running Bare. Happy 30th!

This also happened. I am the happiest woman in the world.

This also happened. I am the happiest woman in the world.

What’s your favourite brand of workout gear?
Most quirky, unique and fun workout you’ve ever done?

Lots of luuurve,

Kloe x

 

 

2 responses to “Running Bare Redefining 30th Birthday Parties: One Lunge at a Time.

Leave a Reply

