I’m Finally Qualified to Kick Butt & Yell at People!

Hey hey,

I almost said that I hoped everyone was enjoying their weekend; and then quickly realised that it was in fact Tuesday. I’m incredibly sorry if this reminded you of the fact that it’s only the 2nd day of the working week (dig yourself a deeper hole, Kloe).
Well, uni holidays will do that to ya.
Either way, I hope you’re having a particularly amazing day! 🙂

Okay, I have some really exciting news. Now, I know I say that in every post, and it’s probably getting old/to the point I turn into some crazy cat lady celebrating getting my 56th cat…
but I promise you this ones a good one!
You may want to sit down for this… or just simply ignore my very typical over-dramatisation, choice is yours.

Anyway, as you all may know, I’ve been studying to become a group fitness instructor on the side of my uni course, and I’ve been working towards this since December 2011.
Yesterday in the mail I got my results for my final course (Group Exercise Instructor), in the very ominous, scary looking envelopes they send them in I swear just to freak you out completely,
and it turns out I passed!! 😀

I was so nervous about this one, because I had to send in footage of me instructing a circuit training session for 10 minutes, and I’m telling you now… it was the most last minute, awkward thing I’ve ever thrown together!
I was really busy at the time with uni and other things, so I literally just got 2 of my friends together, as well as my Mum (bless Mama Jodes!), and basically yelled at them to do multiple push-ups/lunges/high knees/burpees in a circle-type fashion, in the middle of a park, with people stopping and standing in the background thinking what the hell is going on, the wind almost blowing me over in the process…
So as you can imagine, I was preparing myself for the worst, but somehow managed to make it through to the other side!

Me and my certificate - the happy couple!

Me and my certificate – the happy couple!

 

So I’m now technically qualified to teach circuit training classes, cycle classes and boxing classes. I’d absolutely love to instruct cycle classes, because truth be told, I definitely have quite a love affair with them… Sorry you had to find out this way, Tom. 😉
To be honest, the whole boxing thing makes me chuckle just a bit to myself, because I feel like I’m utterly clueless about boxing (the gym class kind, none of this hardcore stuff). Just between you and me, if someone says the phrase “upper-cut”, I instantly think it’s some sort of stealthy craft move. Not even kidding. So might steer clear of that I’m thinking, to save embarrassment for all involved! Just rock up to the class as an instructor, whip out the scissors and scrapbooks: “okay, let’s get started!” haha.

But, alas, this girl’s journey is not over. To get my my ultimate goal of teaching Body Attack and Body Pump, I have to do 2 separate weekend-long courses with Les Mills to learn all the ins-and-outs, a well as all the tracks and things.
I’ve heard from a few little birdies that the Les Mills modules can be pretty darn intense; and you literally have to perform in front of a panel of what I imagine to be scary-looking, middle-aged men with suits glaring at me… which is probably so far from the truth, but hey, my imagination definitely gets the better of me.
Nevertheless, I’m incredibly excited to start my journey of group fitness instructing- it’s been a long time coming! 🙂

I’m going to do a whole post dedicated to the process of becoming qualified, both through the Fitness Institute of Australia (whom I did the Certificate 3 in Fitness and Group Exercise Instructor courses with), and also how to go about then moving on to Les Mills classes, for those who are hardcore Les Mills fans! I know I am, we’re all mates here, no shame 😉

So that’s my little update, but follow-up post will be on its way soon, so watch this space, aspiring group fitness instructors!

And with that, I will leave you with some ludicrously delicious photos from breakfast this morning with my mum. It had to be done, it was just too dang good not to share.
If you’re in public, please try to refrain from licking the screen. I know this will be hard… I believe in you.

Soy & quinoa toast with avocado, tomato & basil olive oil. Get in mah belleh.

Soy & quinoa toast with avocado, tomato & basil olive oil. Get in mah belleh.

 

Toby's Estate, you're doing it right.

Toby’s Estate, you’re doing it right.

Who’s a group fitness instructor out there, and what’s your favourite class to teach?
The one brekkie meal you simply cannot turn down if it’s on the menu?

Kloe xx

7 responses to “I’m Finally Qualified to Kick Butt & Yell at People!

  1. Congrats on getting certified!! I use to teach kickboxing but when I moved down to NC I stopped. I really want to get back into instructing though, it’s so much fun to be in the front 😀

  2. Big congratulations on passing! I’ve been rethinking my life plan lately and think I might want to head more in this type of direction.
    That breakfast was almost screenlicked. But I am at work. I resisted the temptation! 🙂

    • thanks so much! it’s a relief I passed, I’ll tell you that much! haha.
      well I’m actually studying to be a journalist, but I’m way too passionate about health and fitness to not have it as some part of my future career somewhere 🙂
      hahah I’m glad you were able to maintain your dignity and not screen lick!!

  3. Woohooo! Congratulations! I’ve never done it, but I’d love to.

    When you finally get up to teaching attack classes, will you let me know? I haven’t done one in ages and holy crap I miss it.

Leave a Reply

