No-Bake Chocolate Fudge Brownies.

So it’s currently 3am and I couldn’t sleep, and was pondering what to do with myself… until I realised: Oh my gosh, I made awesome brownies the other day, and didn’t even pop the recipe up on the blog, so that everyone else could make them & spread the word of their utter deliciousness! :O
Yep, I felt like a little bit of a failure of a blogger. Whilst thinking about brownies at 3am in the morning, which should probably be more of a concern… but oh well, that’s another post for another day. 😉

I found these incredible bad boys on Teresa Cutter’s website, The Healthy Chef. This woman is probably one of my top ten idols, no exaggeration – this is what her ‘about’ section had to say:

“Teresa Cutter is one of Australia’s leading authorities on healthy cooking and the founder of The Healthy Chef. Healthy Chef is a company that creates purely delicious functional foods for optimum health + wellbeing.  We use organic and natural wholefoods and pride ourselves on developing quality that will inspire a deeper commitment to healthy living. A change in diet can bring about a change in health.

Teresa is a qualified chef, nutritionalist and internationally accredited fitness trainer with Fitness Institute of Australia with an interest in sports nutrition,  weight loss, optimum health and changing the way we eat.” (source)

Not only is she an absolute genius in the kitchen, but she also writes columns for The Sun Herald, Women’s Fitness and Men’s Fitness. And that’s not all; she’s a kick-ass athlete herself! She’s placed second in the Australian National Fitness Figure Body Shaping, as well as winning silver for road cycling in the South West Games WA.
Did someone say mega-talented?! Wow, I am one jealous girl. This pretty much sums up my dream career and life – being an amazing athlete, writer and cook, all rolled into one. 🙂

Anyway, enough of me professing my love for Teresa Cutter (it’s probably erring on the side of ‘freaky creeper girl’), so I’ll stop right there, and get onto the goods…

It was a chilly day in Sydney, and basically all I wanted to do was snuggle up and bake. Except I didn’t want the hassle of attempting to bake successfully in the microwave oven I have in my apartment (no, seriously, I don’t have a real, big girl oven, no word of a lie!), so ironically I ended up picking a really simple brownie recipe that I was able to set in the fridge, rather than bake.
Lazy me in my fluffy pink slippers and onesie did a bit of a necessary victory dance.

Brace yourself, guys, incredible brownies a-coming your way:

Chocolate Fudge Brownies (no baking required!)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup walnuts
  • 1 cup almonds
  • 1 cup (10-12) fresh medjool dates, pitted
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup good quality cocao powder
  • Pinch of sea salt

Method:

  1. Combine the nuts in a food processor until they’re roughly chopped.
  2. Add in the dates, salt, vanilla and cacao powder, and process again until combined well.
  3. You’re more than welcome to add about 2-4 tsp of water, or even orange juice (if you’re feeling a little bit fancy) if you find the mixture is a little bit dry.
  4. Spray a small baking tin with oil, and press the mixture into the bottom of it.
  5. Pop the tin in the fridge and allow everything to set for about an hour.
  6. Slice up into about 12 little squares of choc love and enjoy!
You'd be forgiven for licking your screen. No shame.

You’d be forgiven for licking your screen. No shame.

 

And guys, I actually cannot stress enough how important it is to have “good quality cacao powder” like the recipe suggests.
Now, I was lucky enough to be contacted by an Australian online company called Cheap Superfoods, and they were generous enough to send me some 100% organic cacao powder, as well as organic chia seeds.

Let me tell you, this cacao powder honestly adds so much great flavour to the brownies- they tasted rich and rustic, and much better than if I’d simply used cocoa (note the difference!) powder from the supermarket.

IMG_1316

Cheap Superfoods is a fabulous no-frills website available to all Australians for all their superfood needs, unfortunately I don’t think they ship overseas yet, as they’re a relatively new company and are still in the bub stages!
The company guarantees that your purchases will be the “cheapest, tastiest, freshest and highest nutrient content available anywhere in Australia.” (source)

That’s a massive claim, but hey, I’m definitely down with that, and have thoroughly enjoyed cooking with the products they were able to send me.

Thanks a lot, Cheap Superfoods! 🙂

logo-web
(source)

Well, I hope that you make these brownies stat (mainly because this is an order and that means you have to because I said so…) and fall as head over heels in love with them as I did!

Have a lovely remainder of your week,

Kloe x

10 responses to “No-Bake Chocolate Fudge Brownies.

  1. Pingback: Link Love 13/4 |·

  2. Pingback: Sexy Blog Makeover & My ‘Babies’ are Finally Back in my Life. | Running Shoes & Chocolate Mousse.·

  3. Yum!! I definitely agree that Teresa Cutter is pretty awesome… I remember reading her recipes in the newspaper when I was at school and she just keeps getting more inventive! Love this recipe. I’m just getting the hang of using cacao and I can imagine that these brownies would be even better (if that’s possible!) with the addition of cacao nibs (like chocolate chips, just healthier!). Thanks for sharing. And glad to know that I’m not the only one who blogs at ridiculous hours (in fact, most of my blogging happens after midnight!). Following you xx

    • Hey there!

      Oh yum, yes I love cacao nibs, something I totally didn’t think of but would be incredible! so healthy too, which seems pretty damn impossible considering how yummy they were. 🙂

      no you’re definitely not alone there, I often feel most productive and creative at all hours of the morning haha.

      will definitely check out your blog!

      xx

Leave a Reply

