I’m A Wicked Speed Demon & The Calcium Debate.

Hello fabulous people,

I’m actually amazed that I’m still able to keep my eyes open long enough to write this post… why have I not collapsed on the keyboard yet?! That I will never know, I’m obviously a bit of a trooper.

Let me explain: the last 2 days have been possibly 2 of the busiest, back-to-back, in YONKS (yes, I just used that word. No, I don’t regret it.)
I showed up at work, raring to go yesterday, expecting to be on the ball for a 12-9pm shift on a Thursday… only to find out, apparently the manager of that store (not my usual one) didn’t even know about it! Fate definitely jumped in though, and it turned out a girl had actually just called in sick; so I ended up filling in for her. Is that convenient, or is that convenient?!

I started chatting to the cutest old lady, and she exclaimed out-of-the-blue: “you should ask for a pay rise! You give amazing customer service, you don’t find people in retail like you these days!” I could’ve given her a hug then and there, gorgeous thing. Needless to say, I was more than happy to spend a good 20 minutes helping her pick her jewellery! It’s customers like these that honestly restore my faith in humanity, haha. 🙂 …But she then asked for a discount because she gave me a compliment. For real?!

tumblr_m4iyck3e0O1rtdr3mo1_400

Today, I was meant to come in a bit earlier to work to do some stocktake for another store near my store, which I was opening at 9.30am. I said I’d be in at 7am to help out, woke up at 7.11am, and absolutely flipped out! I jumped out of bed, threw on some clothes, made my hair somewhat presentable, and got there in record time- 7.30am! Okay, so I may or may not live a 10 minute bus ride away… but that’s beside the point. I’m still a wicked speed demon 😉

I finished work at 2.30pm, and had to rush back to the campus accommodation to move apartments (yeah yeah, I know, again!), I decided to move back into a studio apartment, because I feel like it just suited me and my lifestyle better, that’s all. It feels really nice coming “home”, back to a cute, cosy little apartment; I will admit I’m a little bit in love. ❤
I moved all of the stuff I own from one apartment to the other, in 2 and a half hours! It took me and my Mum 3 hours the first time… so you do the math there. Crazy stuff.
What am I on today?!
I then had to rush down to the supermarket to stock up the fridge, and now, I’m sitting here, doing a bit of a falling-asleep head nod, but refusing to move my parked butt to bed… a mere half a metre away.
When I’m not being a super-quick superwoman, dayyyum, am I lazy…

________________________________________________

Anyway, moving on to something I’d really like to talk about and hear you guys’ opinions on:
DAIRY PRODUCTS.
I’ve read a whole lot of opposing views on this topic lately, and it’s got me really interested… as well as confused, let’s be honest.
I mean, we’ve all heard the standard recommendation that we consume 3 serves of dairy a day, for a variety of health benefits.

I know I’m a die-hard dairy product fan: give me yoghurt, milk & cheese (maybe chuck in some chocolate), and I’m one happy, albeit extremely full, girl.
However, I’ve heard some pretty crazy, and a tad scary stuff about dairy products of late, so I thought I’d assess the pros and cons of downin’ your dairy all day err’day (just because I’m feeling gangsta like that, don’t argue if you know what’s good for you)

Pros of Dairy:

  • Excellent source of calcium, which promotes strong bones and reduces the risk of broken bones, fractures and osteoporosis (recommended 1000mg per day, which is about 3 servings of dairy)
  • It is associated with a decrease in the risk of Type 2 diabetes, cardiovascular disease and can lower blood pressure (choosemyplate.gov)
  • Dairy products pack a protein-punch, which is an essential nutrient in building and repairing muscle (webmd.com)
  • Many milk products are fortified with Vitamin D, which is essential for facilitating the absorption of calcium (webmd.com)
  • It has been proven that calcium may play  a role in body-weight regulation, and weight maintenance (webmd.com)

Cons of Dairy:

Robyn, who blogs over at The Real Life RD, recently wrote a great post on why we should seriously re-consider eating dairy products on a regular basis. As a registered dietitian, she’s definitely in the know about these kinds of things, and how nutrition and what we eat has a profound affect on our health. These are the facts she put forward:

  • Dairy actually produces acid in the body, which works against our body, trying to keep the pH neutral
  • An acidic internal environment can lead to a whole range of problems- IBS, inflammation, arthritis, even depression…
  • Magnesium in the body fulfils the role of taking care or any extra acid going on, which prevents it from doing what it does best- assisting joints, bones and tissues working optimally
  • Hence, if we reduce the amount of dairy we eat, this in turn decreases this acidic build-up
  • There’s also the argument that cow’s milk can contain pesticides and herbicides

As much as these cons make sense, I’m still a firm believer in dairy, and all the fantastic health benefits it brings. I feel as though they greatly overshadow the maybe not-so-fab stuff…
I know I for one, am definitely going to keep dairy products as a vital part of my daily balanced diet, but if you were in doubt and were even considering trying to eliminate it to test it out, understandably you might be a bit concerned about where you can get calcium from in the other foods you eat.

So, here are some alternative sources of calcium:

(from the Vegetarian Resource Group and Care2 Healthy Living)

  • Tempeh
  • Tofu
  • Collard greens
  • Plant-based milks (almond or soy)
  • Kale
  • Soy beans
  • Bok choy
  • Mustard greens
  • Okra
  • Tahini
  • Navy beans
  • Almond butter
  • Almonds
  • Broccoli
  • Blackberries
  • Fennel
  • Figs
  • Dates
  • Artichokes
  • Amaranth
  • Sesame seeds

Hope that gave you a bit of food for thought, it definitely sparked a bit of a ponder for me!

What’s your opinion on dairy products?
What’s your favourite alternative source of calcium?
Anyone a vegan out there?

calcium3

Have a relaxing (or hardcore fun, if you plan to party it away!) weekend 🙂

Lots of love,

Kloe x

13 responses to “I’m A Wicked Speed Demon & The Calcium Debate.

  1. As someone who is sensitive to everything – and can’t eat any acidic foods – I can certainly say that dairy has no acid problems with my body. My doctors actually had me off dairy for a month as we tried to determine my allergies and there were far more problems than benefits (there really were no benefits) for me.

    I think that if your body can tolerate dairy, you should take advantage of that as it has so many benefits! Plus, for those who aren’t sure, it’s so easy to be tested for lactose intolerance!

    • Well said, Kristy!

      And that does say a lot, if you’ve got lots of intolerances, and your body is happy on dairy.
      You’re a prime example of dairy being a fantastic food!
      Interesting that there were more problems when you didn’t have any… wow!

  2. I like dairy but it can irritate the stomach for some (me included). Sigh. But I couldn’t live without yoghurt, cheese, milk and chocolate! Emphasis on the chocolate.

    • Yep, I’ve heard of it irritating the tummy, and I even find this if there’s a day I go WAAAAY overboard on the dairy (hey, I’m in love.. it happens. I don’t do moderation either 😉

      Chocolate totally has dairy, it’s legit! You’d have to eat 5 blocks to get decent calcium, so challenge accepted !

    • completely agree! I’ve actually never heard any bad things about dairy, before I read that post…
      But you’re right, all the nutrients in moderation in a balanced diet, and you’ll get the best from all worlds!
      🙂

  3. Being a farm girl and being brought up on dairy, I still love my real butter and beautiful thick cream, not a big fan of milk though and am fussy about cheese…..

  4. I love my ice cream and sadly I don’t see myself giving it up. I also don’t feel sick from it though so I can suck it up. Totally laughed out loud at the price picture. Some people are just too much!

  5. thanks for sharing the post! I feel it’s my responsibility as a healthcare provider to share evidence-based information and from there, a person’s food choices are 100% their own– just like we choose who we’re friends with or what we wear, we are free to choose what we eat. I appreciate you’re open ears 🙂

    Here is another article from a well-respected and well known RD http://toyourhealthnutrition.blogspot.com/2010/11/10-reasons-to-ditch-dairy.html

  6. Hi Kloe – sounds like you’ve had a super busy week!!! What a lovely old lady at the shop:) Not sure on dairy products- I have hared they build acid too but yogurt is good for you so I try to eat a lot of natural or Greek yogurt.

  7. Pingback: Brace Yourself; Winter is Coming & The Best Women’s Magazines. | Running Shoes & Chocolate Mousse.·

Leave a Reply

