Weekend in Canberra!

Why hello everyone,
Guess what? I’m still alive!

It feels like it’s been waaay too long, honestly, it’s amazing/maybe slightly weird how much I actually miss blogging when I’m away. Call me a lonely, crazy internet lady; but it’s the honest truth!

I headed down to Canberra for the weekend, and I left on Friday night with Tom’s family at about 6pm, stopped at McDonald’s on the way (as per mandatory road trip shenanigans) and we finally arrived at about 10ish. My god, I tell you what, sitting in one spot in a car for 3 hours really takes it out of you, I was exhausted and so ready to crash! So we went and got our keys, and I let myself into my lonely little apartment (until Tom was there the next night) and fell asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow. Bliss.

The next morning, we had to be up and ready to leave for Tom’s Chief of Defence Force Parade, which was held at the Australian Defence Force Academy. This is where Tom lives now and will go to uni and all that kinda stuff… all in the one spot! Just a tad jealous. It was absolutely freezing in Canberra, which no one thought to warn me about before I left! So I was left shivering and teeth chattering, looking mega attractive, obviously. I got all dressed up and ready to go, this is my outfit for the day:

photo copy

Excuse the incredibly awkward selfie, complete with purple legs from the cold, and all my crap strewn all over the apartment… god luck getting your stuff in here too, Tom… typical girl with too many things. #sorrynotsorry 😉

When I got to ADFA, I bumped into my best friend Ally completely by chance, as she was there to see her cousin in the parade. She looked absolutely stunning, as per usual! It was so nice to see her and we chatted like 2 excited schoolgirls (minus the piggytails) for a good 10 minutes before we had to get all seated for the parade.
The parade was so incredible, there were I think about 1000 ADFA students, and the way they were all able to march and do all their drills in time was beyond me! It looked amazing, and it was so clear how much work and dedication went into organising it. Congratulations to all the students on their hard work paying off and the fantastic parade! We were all beyond impressed 🙂
We all looked completely insane attempting to find Tom, but to no avail… they all looked way too similar! Which is probably the point, haha.

But when I finally got to see Tom after, and give him the single biggest hug in the universe, I could not get over how handsome/amazing he looked in uniform! I was all like, “yeah that’s right, totally dating this guy…” 😉
Here I go, embarrassing him entirely again on the blog… getting pretty good at that. He loves it 😉 …I hope. He better.
Anyway, then there was a luncheon in the mess hall for all the families, and holy wow, I’ve never seen so much food in my life- sandwiches, sausage rolls, fruit, cake, quiches… obviously this girl went to town. 😉

As soon as Tom was given the all clear to go on his weekend leave, the rest of the Saturday was spent going for a bit of a leisurely stroll around a strip of cafes and shops, and just sussing out that area of Canberra a bit.

That night, we all went out for dinner for Spanish Tapas at a place called Legends- if you’re ever in Canberra, for any reason, YOU MUST GO THERE! This is an order. The food was so amazing, and the thing I love about tapas is you can order so many (usually way too many!) dishes and get to try them all!

oid-legends-img3_2

(source)

Alas, I didn’t get to snap any pics, as the food was devoured within minutes (yes, it was just that good..) but I’m sure in time you’ll forgive me, especially if you go there and totally understand what I’m raving about. 🙂

After dinner, Tom’s family went home, and we decided to check out this place called Public, which was this really trendy, modern but kind of rustic bar/restaurant, with a really hipster feel!

photo copy 2photo
Tom posing lovingly with his first beer in 6 weeks- I see how it is. I do admit I feel a bit left out here, and like I was totally interrupting something… not going to lie.
The menu was pretty pricey, it had all your old pub favourites, but classed up a bit or had something on the side with some name you had no idea how to pronounce, and hence your burger and chips was all of a sudden $25, but we promised we’d come back here one day and check it out properly (when we’ve saved about 3 weeks of out pay…) 🙂

We then walked home (well, attempted to..) as Tom got us completely lost pretending he was the Canberra pro and knew everything about it… his excuse: “but, the two street names are… synonyms! Give me a break!” Pfft, pathetic excuse, I’m a tad embarrassed for you.. It’s okay, next time I come to Canberra I’m expecting the full tour of the city, complete with commentary 😉 no pressure, whatsoever.
We then just had an awesome night just chatting and catching up on everything, and it was seriously amazing just to hang out.. it’s so simple and probably an everyday thing for most couples, but I guess when you haven’t seen each other in 6 weeks, you could do nothing and be completely content! #lameandsoppyalert 🙂

On Sunday, it took as all a while to decide what we all wanted to do, but settled on driving to Queanbeyan (and discovering it was Scottish Day, getting excited and then incredibly disappointed when all we saw were about 5 middle aged guys on the street with bagpipes and kilts), so we came across this cute little market with heaps of yummy gourmet food (you better believe I took advantage of dem taste testers! 😉 ), and I even had to try and talk Tom out of buying a whole new wardrobe of fuzzy slippers, one pair resembling 2 llamas, and the other those curly elf shoes. I tried to explain that this would mean instant social suicide and a harsh on-the-spot dumping. I’m glad he chose his reputation and me over these slippers, I was worried for a second there…
After that little stop over, we headed to Canberra Centre to hit up a movie.

Tom and I saw Django Unchained, and if you haven’t yet had the chance to, this is a must-see and I completely recommend it! I’m usually really cheap with my $15 movie tickets, and it has to be a fantastic movie to stop me complaining about how pricey it is, but honestly I’d see this movie another 3 times happily! And that says a lot. I haven’t really seen any Quentin Tarrentino films all the way through before, but I’m definitely sold and want to sit down with a bucket of popcorn and watch them all now!
Samuel L. Jackson and Leonardo DiCaprio were both brilliant in it, and even Jonah Hill made a sneaky appearance! God that boy is getting around in Hollywood, look at him go! And of course, Quentin himself… with an exaggerated Aussie accent?! You’ve gotta see it to believe it.
Django was hilarious and in typical, quirky Tarrentino style, and had both of us in stitches the whole time… Probably at inappropriate moments when everyone else had stopped laughing at the joke, but hey, doesn’t that say it all (apart from us having no shame or public social skills 😛 )

django-unchained-poster3

(source)

Tom had to be back at ADFA by 6pm (or is his words: 1800, which always takes me a good 20 seconds to actually work out…) so we dropped him off, said our goodbyes, and hit the road at about 4pm, so we wouldn’t arrive home to Sydney at some ridiculous hour.
It was so bittersweet driving off; I’d had such an amazing weekend with both him and his family, I didn’t really want it to end. I finally got to see Tom after his 6 weeks of intense training, in which we barely got to speak… and I can’t really describe how happy that made me, honestly. One of the best feelings.
But also on the flip side, one of the worst feelings is driving off again, and knowing we’ll have to be apart for a while again.
But it’s all good, because he’s got his phone back, and he’ll be coming to Sydney for the Easter holiday in 3 weeks time… which is really not that far away, and I can’t wait! It’ll be my birthday a few days after he has to leave to go back to Canberra, but we’re going to make sure we do something special together beforehand to celebrate my 20th (oldie in the house!) 🙂

I just really want to say how proud I am of Tom… seeing him do his thang at the parade, everything he’s learned, how passionate about it all he is; just makes me so happy for him! I can tell this is exactly where he’s meant to be, and he’s going to have some incredible adventures and experiences ahead of him, as well as making some life-long mates. I definitely support him every step of the way, and not just because I may or may not love a man in uniform… hehe.
You need to be a very specific type of person to be in Tom’s position right now: loyal, dedicated, determined, a leader, intelligent, have amazing team spirit, strong, courageous.. and of course there’s more, but I can see Tom literally cringing an wailing, “make it stop! Someone knock her out or something!”
So I’ll give him a break. 😉

All in all, it was such a great weekend, and I can’t wait to spend some more time in Canberra because I honestly think it’s a really nice town- it gets a bad rap sometimes (read: all of the time) and I’d love to give it a chance to prove itself to me 😛

It’s back to reality tomorrow for everyone; and I have a few assessments and readings I really need to get onto! I feel so behind now and am starting to get a bit stressed about uni, urgh. But hey, we’ve all gotta do it, so I better suck it up, be a man and get my nerd on 😉

Hope you all had a wonderful weekend, whether it was one for relaxing or one for fun!

5 responses to “Weekend in Canberra!

  1. Aw I’m glad you had such a wonderful time seeing your boyfriend! Love your outfit in the selfie- especially the shoes 🙂

    • hahah my god, Antarctica or Canberra?! :/ so confused!

      such a good weekend, feeling so depressed to be back and back at uni. especially because I miss Tom too waaaah 😦

      so awesome to bump into you there though, what are the chances?!

      • I know right, felt like Antarctica!!

        Well yay he’s coming down for Easter! Em is too 🙂 But of course you’ll miss him in the mean time!!

        Haha you’re funnnny 😛 The chances were pretty high I think hahah I totally assumed we would bump into each other at some point! 🙂 xxxx

Leave a Reply

