Get Your Game Face On: My Recovery Plan.

Hey lovelies,

First up, I just wanted to thank all you beautiful, amazing people for your support and encouragement after finding out about my stress fracture- I can tell you that there’s no way I would’ve been able to stay this positive if I didn’t have you guys telling me to hang in there and stay strong, and for this I’m so, so grateful.
It’s absolutely incredible what a profound affect a fantastic support network can have on your attitude and ability to bounce back and be resilient after a setback.
It’s also times like these where you have the chance to really realise how lucky you are with all the genuine friends and family you have in your life… such a humbling experience.
Cannot tell you how much I appreciate you all. πŸ™‚

M175Good-Friends-Are-Like-Stars-Posters

So I’ve had a little bit of time to reflect, have a cry, eat my weight in peanut butter- as well as throwing some yoghurt in there for good measure and calcium to help the bone!- and I’m feeling more determined and motivated than ever to sort out why this is happening to me, once and for all.
I’m trying to look at this in a blessing in disguise: my body is telling me that something I’m doing with my training, with my eating, is simply not right; and before I can chase after that half-marathon/marathon dreams of mine… I need to make sure I’m in tip top condition and the best version of myself I can be, health-wise!
I mean, yes, I was able to recover from the last stress fracture; but what did I truly learn, and what necessary changes did I make?
None, really. I was able to run again, got a tad overly excited, and off I went.. I wasn’t running anywhere near as much as I used to, which was a change IΒ didΒ make; but it seems like that’s not the underlying issue here.
So that’s what I’m totally setting out to hunt down! It’s going to be my mission to achieve while I’m healing and recovering. πŸ™‚

I know for me, with my Type-A personality and all (haha), I am more than just a little obsessed with lists, and making plans, schedules, etc, just because I like being mega-organised (or OCD, depending on what you call it!)
I love having a clear goal I can work towards and really push myself to get there.

So, without further a-do, let me introduce to you: ‘Kloe’s Return-To-Running-&-Kick-Some-Butt Game Plan!’
(longer name than was probably necessary, but hey, I feel like it says it all :P)

  • First of all, see an amazing sports doctor or physician to monitor my healing leg, and create a rehab program for me to follow- If anyone knows any fab ones in Sydney you could suggest, please don’t hesitate, I’d be more than happy to hear!
  • See a sports dietician- I want to really assess my diet and make sure I’m 1) eating enough to keep up with all my crazy running, spinning and lifting shenanigans! and 2) check out if I’m getting enough calcium and vitamin D, which are so, so essential for good bone strength!
  • Hit up Body Pump about 3 times per week- I know how extremely important it is to have strong muscles when you’re a runner to help prevent injury, so I’m going to get my (female..) Hulk on! I am woman- hear me rawr! πŸ˜› I want to make sure when I can return to running, I’ve got an awesome strength base.
  • Go to yoga 1-2 times per week- Hey, this is a perfect opportunity to learn more about yoga and really give it a go, as I’ve been so curious about it for a long time now, and to be honest, have been a bit of a wannabe yogi πŸ˜‰ This will be amazing for my flexibility, and also additional strength building! Can’t go wrong there.
  • Go to spin about 3 times per week- I’m a self-confessed spin junkie, and it’s been part of my exercise routine for a long time now; even longer than my love affair with running, believe it or not! Spin is an awesome low-impact, cardiovascular workout and way to work up a serious sweat! This will be my way to maintain my cardio fitness so my heart and lungs are ready toΒ goΒ as soon as my legs are πŸ™‚ This is what saved me during my last stress fracture, so hopefully it’ll be my best buddy again this time!
  • Try out swimming- Now, I will admit that I’m definitely not a swimmer by any stretch of the imagination. I’m that girl in a race at the school swimming carnival, have a sneaky look around you underwater and can’t see any of the other competitors, get cocky and think you’re kicking serious butt… only to realise they’d all been waiting for you at the finish like for a good 2 mins. Awkward Kloe moment #47.

But, I’m keen to forgive swimming, and maybe I can dabble in it a bit, and might find it relaxing and that I like it πŸ™‚

The couple of months ahead of me will be a challenge, there will be days where I feel like I’m on top of the world and really making amazing progress, feeling all positive and loving life;
But there will be days where all I’ll want to do it get out there and runrunrun to my heart’s content, but know I can’t and will just have to cuddle up on the lounge and watch soppy Chick Flicks in my pj’s instead.
And that’s okay, I’m okay with that πŸ™‚

bjones
(source)

So that’s enough whinging about my stress fracture, and it’s on to really thinking about all the positive, constructive things I can do right now!

Tell me:
Is anyone out there a cyclist or a swimmer, rather than a runner?
What’s been your most favourite athlete memory or moment?
What setbacks have you had to overcome in your athletic career, or life, that have made you stronger and smarter in the end?

Have a fabulous day guys πŸ™‚

Kloe x

10 responses to “Get Your Game Face On: My Recovery Plan.

    • I’m hoping the same thing! I mean, I can only come out of this knowing more and more about how to fuel myself as train, and that can only be a good thing:)
      there’s probably a few big things I’m not doing right that I haven’t figured out yet! nows the time.
      you’re so gorgeous, once again, thanks!!!

  1. You know that I’m 100% behind you on this plan and I know you’re going to do really well with it. You’re taking it seriously and it shows that you truly want to get better, no matter how scary that may be.

    • I know that if I really knuckle down and commit myself to figuring it all out; it’ll be so worth it in the end.

      so glad I’ve got some amazing, talented and inspiring runners behind me here πŸ™‚

  2. Awesome attitude!! And sounds like you’ve got a great plan to get yourself healthy again. Swimming is awesome, such a great workout while letting your joints and bones rest. It’s definitely a good idea while you’re healing.

    -Deryn πŸ™‚

    • I like to thnk that attitude really is everything. I could be depressed about this, yes it’s disappointing; but there are positives too, I just need to look for them. a good learning experience as well.
      I’m not even sure how to swim in order to actually get a workout though!
      so I’m a bit lost on that, might have to do a bit of research πŸ™‚ willing to try though !

  3. Experience is the best lesson in life, these mould our characters and set us up for success. Keep going darling girl, we think you are amazing. Nan and Pop. Xx

  4. I love your recovery plan and that you can see the positive side to your injury:) I think of myself as a cyclist/runner, ever since a knee injury about a year ago I have been cycling and ABSOLUTELY LOVE it. It is great fun, even more so than running, and very social too. Yoga is also one of my best things to do, I always promise myself a class but usually end up doing my own thing in the garden:) Enjoy!

    • I hope I’m not being too ambitious with my plan though, I want to make sure I’m Resting my leg and not setting back healing either! will need to strike that happy balance πŸ™‚
      I’ve never really tried road cycling; I do spin but maybe that’s something to have a go at. I guess these opportunities wouldn’t come around unless I’m injured, or I’d just be running πŸ˜›
      yoga is such a beautiful, calming practice, with amazing benefits; I’ve been meaning to try for ages to get back into it!
      do you follow some kind of yoga workout or just do your own thing??

Leave a Reply

