All Luuurved Up: My V-Day Adventures.

Happy Valentines Day, lovers!

I’ve never really known what to think about Valentines Day, my opinion changes depending on whether I happen to be all loved up at that point or not.
One year, I might be like the Grinch who stole Valentines Day, having a cynical rant about how it’s all just a marketing scam and a way to make people buy things to show their love for others, when really we should show this all year round anyway blahblah rant blah grumpybum blah.

However, this year I felt completely different.
{slight mushy alert, if you cannot handle lovey-dovey-ness, escape while you can! Don’t say I didn’t warn you}

Today’s not only Valentines Day, but it’s also the day Tom and I officially became a couple. I know, I know, could we be anymore cliche?!
I met him at my year 12 school formal, and he was my friend’s date, believe it or not (old school friends, people, don’t worry I didn’t go around snagging peoples’ boyfriends!) we got chatting, and hit it off.
Later in the month, we bumped into eachother at Schoolies at Byron Bay, and ended up spending a lot of time together there.
We’d been hanging out for a few months, and organised a Valentines date- dinner and a movie, just to be all conventional and not very creative. πŸ™‚

Anyway, While we were at dinner, Tom casually dropped a, “so you’re one ofΒ thoseΒ type of girlfriends, are you?” and the rest was history! I love the sly and sneaky way he was assessing the situation there… well played Tom, well played. You definitely reeled me in! πŸ˜‰

This past year has been so amazing, and I feel like I’ve learned so much; not just about myself, but about the world, and what it’s like to have someone so extremely special enter your life. Tom being a part of my life for a year now has made it that much more incredible and meaningful, there have been so many memories I’ll never forget that I’ve completely lost count of.
He’s not only my boyfriend, but my best friend.
We have the most fun together, I pretend that his lame dad jokes are hilarious; and he makes me feel like it’s okay that I didn’t know where the hell the Czech Republic was (I probably thought it was some tropical island somewhere, Geography was never my thing… be nice).
Not only that, but in the last year, Tom has been there for me when I’ve most needed it. There’s been some pretty tough times, and he’s always been by my side; even if it’s just to hug me, and tell me everything’s going to be okay. And for that, I’ll never be able to say how grateful I am and how much it meant to me.

Tom moved to Canberra to join the army a few weeks ago now, and I’ll admit it’s been so challenging not being able to talk to him everyday, because naturally him starting this exciting new adventure, I’m going to want to know every detail!
But it’s okay, because I know that he’s doing exactly what he loves, he’s pursuing his goals- and that’s something to admire. Honestly, it makes me so happy just knowing that πŸ™‚
He’s the strongest, most determined guy I know; and I can guarantee you this kid will go far, and achieve everything he sets out to.

 

__________________________________

I woke up this morning to a nice warm bowl of oats, and just to make me smile even more; a beautiful little package that Tom had sent me in the mail. I got a gorgeous card, WITH a letter in it too (hello, novel!) and some chocolate roses… which I may or may not have already dug into in the below photo… anything but subtle, Kloe. Nice.

 

IMG_0879 IMG_0881

I had to head out for an appointment this morning, so I was reading the letter on the bus; and sporting the biggest, goofiest smile on my face the entire time. I can only imagine I was getting weird, questioning looks from other passengers, but I was too overwhelmed by the letter to even notice.

Just going to take a quick sec to thank Tom so, so much for the beautiful Valentines pressie! I feel like one lucky lady, and I can’t wait to see this guy in a few weeks now! All decked out in his uniform, lookin’ all sharp and sexy and stuff. πŸ˜‰

_____________________________

Even though I didn’t get to spend Valentines Day with Tom, I had a date for the day, so I was happy!
Me and my friend, Tess, hit up a yoga class at fitness first together; which was a really relaxing addition to my day- yoga’s so fantastic just to become in tune with your body, your breathing, and be alone in your mind just to reflect and think.
I always feel so rejuvenated and content after a good yoga session!
Not to mention sleepy, and incredibly hungry (…maybe that’s just me and my eating-like-a-man ways?!)
So we went to lunch at a cute little hole in the wall cafe in the Strand Arcade, in the city.

IMG_0883

I got the veggie sandwich with pesto and feta, which was probably two times the size of my head, but totally hit the spot.
I love a good sandwich- you can literally put anything in them, and you can always mix it up!
Peanut butter and banana will always be a clear front runner for me, though. It knows the way to my heart. ❀

I’ve just got home from work, and now I have to get stuck into Tom’s awesome (albeit extremely delayed)Β Valentines gift.
Hey, I had to get his pressie first, to gauge where we stood on the loved-up-soppy-meter, just incase I went all out and scared the pants off him.
A girls gotta do what a girls gotta do. Just being strategic and smart here, not lazy and disorganised.. I swear. πŸ˜›

Over to you, friends:

What did you do for Valentines Day today?
How did you and your significant other (wow, not sure I like that term, haha- too formal!) meet?

And just because sandwiches are the best- what’s your go-to filling?

Lots of love to everyone today πŸ™‚

Kloe x


10 responses to “All Luuurved Up: My V-Day Adventures.

  1. Happy Valentine’s Day girly!! πŸ™‚ I’ve never been a huge fan of VDay whether I was in a relationship or not. This is Justin & my 2nd Valentine’s together and we’re just keeping it simple – no flowers or gifts, just staying in, cooking a meal together and having some wine πŸ™‚ I’m sorry you wont be with Tom today but you’ll both be thinking about each other the WHOLE day I’m sure! With each other in V-Day spirit!!

    • Hey Molly,

      happy valentines day!!
      that’s such an awesome idea for your day with Justin, I’m a fan of doing it all low key if anything; and just focussing on spending a lil bit of quality time together rather than drowning in chocolates and teddies. sounds perfect, that’s the way id do it πŸ™‚

      aw thanks! it’s hard not being able to even chat on the phone (he only get it for about 10 mins a few times a week for 6 weeks) but it’s the knowing he’s there anyway xxx

  2. I WORKED ON V-DAY/ ate my feelings away with peanut butter cupcakes.
    I have not yet my significant other 😦
    Go to filling would defs be something with avo and chicken – can’t go wrong there!

    p.s Tom, Tom, Tom – never let that young man go!

    xxxx

    • Totally don’t blame you for eating your feelings with the cupcakes…
      you’ve discovered the art of numbing pain with peanut butter! Woooo for us and our really helpful approach! hahah πŸ˜›

      I worked on V day night, so all these loved up couples were coming in, and this one guy bought 15 ITEMS for his girlfriend who was also there!
      onnneeee lucky lady…

      but not as lucky as me though, just quietly. πŸ˜‰

      xoxoxo

  3. I’m so glad you had such a lovely Valentines Day! Tom’s clearly a big sweetie :-). I lived in Canberra for ages, and I did plenty of commuting to see my man as well. I know it’s tough :-(. It sounds like you’re both going strong!

  4. How sweet that your man mailed you a valentines gift! I definitely know how that long distance business deal feels!

    Jesse and I actually met on MySpace through a mutual friend (bit impossible meeting 10,000 miles away) – I sure am glad we outlasted the site, haha ;P

    • hahah kristy, MySpace has definitely had its day, you guys will outlast Facebook and the next 10 fad sites too I’m sure πŸ˜€

      how difficult is it?! and Tom is only in Canberra! but we only get to chat on the phone for 5 mins at a time, a few times a week for the first 6 weeks;
      so that makes it harder. no Facebook or anything!
      is Jesse moving to Australia?!

    • I know right, Megan? totally didn’t expect anything, especially because the army’s so strict and it would be hard to get an opportunity to buy all of it and send it!

      Definitely keeping this one πŸ˜‰ haha.
      hope you guys had an awesome v day over there!!

Leave a Reply

