Adventure of a Lifetime & Australia Day Weekend.

Hey all,

Sorry it’s been a while since I’ve posted and I’ve been a tad on the AWOL side of life (okay I admit that sentence actually made no sense whatsoever), but I’ve been so incredibly busy, so much has been going on, I’ve barely been able to breathe!

Firstly, something really big and exciting, but also scary and emotional, happened on Friday. Tom left Sydney to move to Canberra to join the Australian Defence Force; which is such an amazing adventure to embark on!
I really don’t want to embarrass him by getting all ‘overly-emotional girlfriend’ on him; but I will just say that although I’ll miss him like crazy everyday, I’m so extremely proud of him.
It takes a lot of courage, dedication and determination to do something like this, and I admire him so much for it.
I’m so happy that he’s doing exactly what he wants, and is moving into an amazing new stage of his life; I know he’ll love every second of it! 🙂
In fact, I may even be just a bit jealous that he’s got his future all figured out, and I’m just sitting here all indecisive, like, “crap. Toast or pancakes for breakfast? Lord, give me a sign!”
So yes, that happened, and naturally chasing after the bus seeing him off was my priority!

Image

Image

Image

Aw, this kid. ^ 😀

On Friday night, I went to the Manly food markets with the fam. There were a variety of food stalls set up, from Dutch pancakes to mexican quesadillas, to Japanese dumplings and Thai noodles.. if you were craving it, it was definitely there!

Image

There was such a great atmosphere: so many families were gathered to soak up the live music, the sea breeze, the sunset and enjoy the incredible food. Instantly put a smile on my face, and made me really appreciate summer here in Australia, and how lucky we are. 🙂

Image

IMG_0711

For the Australia Day long weekend, my family and I went on a bit of a roadtrip to Orange, and then to Dubbo for a couple of nights so we could take my little brother to the apparently amazing Western Plains zoo there.
Orange was great for gorgeous little cafes and coffee shops, which I will admit (so naive!) that I totally didn’t expect from a rural town, but was pleasantly surprised!
The zoo was a lot of fun, the round trip is 6 kilometres, and you have the choice to drive it (in a car or golf buggy- I know what I’d choose! So mature…), walk it, or if you’re feeling particularly adventurous; ride a bike around it.
Of course, my family went straight for the bikes, and I’ll let it be known I hadn’t ridden a bike in say, oooh, 12 years. So needless to say, I was both a bit nervous, and entirely scared for my life!
After a few situations in which I almost fell into the buffalo enclosure and rode clean off a bridge, it actually turned out to be fun once I could keep myself upright for more than a total of 2 minutes straight. 🙂
Would definitely recommend it!

Hope you all had a fabulous Australia Day weekend, are slowly recovering from your epic hangover, still eating leftover snags and are all ready to head back to life/reality/work tomorrow 🙂

(Kill you now, you say? Yeah, I hear ya…)

Image

Killer salads at Byng Local Store, Orange.
Had to snap a pic, despite strange looks from locals…

Image

Bit of info on the zoo incase you were keen (which of course you are, obviously, after my great persuasion skills!)

6 responses to “Adventure of a Lifetime & Australia Day Weekend.

    • Aw thanks Sarah, that means a lot!
      This was totally one of my casual, not really trying to be good posts though 😉

      Thanks again!

      xx 🙂

  1. hahah, oh you’re too kind, you’re too kind!

    I could say the same thing about your makeup, fashion and hair; girl, show me the ways! :O

  2. Pingback: This girl’s off to Canberra! For a Good Reason, I Swear… | Running Shoes & Chocolate Mousse.·

Leave a Reply

